Hello Readers!

Today I am going to do this a bit different than usual. But I am going to give you a quick life update and I am going to evaluate my New Year goals.

As for the life update, I am doing better. My therapy has started and I am really motivated to do it and work on it, so that is going great so far. And I have also decided to take a half year pause from college, to work on myself. I don’t know if I had already told you about this, but that is happening. The idea that I had to start with college again after summer break made me so anxious that I could take rest, so decided to get some more rest. Everything is taken care off, so I can completely start my recovery right now.

That was the life update, now on to the evaluation of my New Year goals. Spoilers, I failed almost everything.

Reading

  • My Goodreads reading goal for 2017 will be 75 books. I won’t be pushing myself to read that many if I don’t have the time to do it, because the first half of 2017 will be very busy.

I am ahead of my reading challenge! So first I am going to try and complete this reading challenge and then if I am finished it, I am going to change my Goodreads reading goal to 100.

  • Cut down my TBR. Right now I have a little less than 100 books I already own, so I want to get that down to at least 50 books (of course less would be greater).

I still need to work on this.

  • Read more diverse books.

I am working on it. I have bought some divers books lately.

  • Book buying restriction

Ha…Ha…Ha… What was I thinking these past few months? So I have bought a lot of books in these past few months and I personally think it is also because of my mental health, but still. Bad Debbie! I am still going to try to restrict myself. I am not going to buy any book in my Summer Break. And when that is over I can buy a book once I have finished a series (since I need to finish a lot of them).

Writing

  • Write a short story each month and post it on my blog.

Oops… That didn’t happen, but I am still going to continue this goal and giving you every short story I owe you. So be prepared for that.

  • Finish my first book (which I am not planning to publish, I am writing it to develop myself as a writer)

Right now I am not focusing on writing a book but two novellas. I think I will be participating in NaNoWriMo again this year, so that will be a great opportunity to write my first book.

  • Finishing the two fanfictions which are currently ongoing

I haven’t written any word for these two fanfictions, but as you have seen in my Writing Goals post, I am planning on writing 6 chapters of each in the summer.

 

Blogging

  • Keeping up with my schedule (every Sunday and Wednesday). I noticed that I am slacking lately when it comes to this, so I am going to work on this.

Nope didn’t happen. But I am planning on going back to it and I have included 1 more day with it, the Saturday.

  • Posting on Instagram at least once a week.

Nope….

  • Dedicate one day of the week to writing my blog posts, and commenting and getting to know other people.

And Nope….

Evaluation

Well I wasn’t good at keeping my goals, but because of the situation which I am in, I am not going to be mad at myself or punish myself. I am just going to try to complete them the next few months. And I am going to add a few more goals to this.

  • Finish 10 NetGalley reviews. I have recently created my own NetGalley account, so I am going to set a goal for that as well. Currently I am on 2 NetGalley (maybe 3) reviews.
  • Start my own BookTube channel. I have been wanting to do this ever since I found BookTube and since I have more time right now and because I want to stimulate myself to do stuff I really want to do and would really enjoy, I am just going to do it.

Question: I also want to make new headers for my posts. Do you know any free programs or sites I could use for that?

So how are you doing on your New Year’s Resolution? Have you set new goals for yourself as well?

handtekening

5 thoughts on “The Story Of My Life #5 (Evaluation New Year’s Resolutions)

  1. I use canva to make all my headers and stuff for my blog and the thumbnails for my BookTube vids. It’s free 🙂
    I’m so happy the therapy is helping you!! Focusing on your own mental health is most important

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the tip, I’ve used and I I like working with it. I am glad as well that therapy is helping 🙂 And thank you for all your support throughout those tough months.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. It seems my comment cut off > <

      My original comment was "I'm glad you're focusing on yourself and your goals. I always say if you're not doing well, nothing else will go well. Focusing on your well-being is important.

      Sticking to goals isn't easy, but I know you can do it!"

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

