Hello Readers!

Top 5 Wednesday is created by Lainey from GingerReadsLainey and is now hosted by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes.

I know I am a day late with this post, but this topic just speaks to me, which made me want to do this post no matter what. I personally don’t mind romance in YA, but there are other aspects which need to me in a novel as well and not only romance. And I love a romance I can ship and swoon over, but lately I haven’t read that many great romances and I am trying to find more books which fixate more on friendship and family.

But, yeah, here are the books I have read without romance.

A Monster Call by Patrick Ness

This is a short book and I also own the illustrated edition of this book. This book is very emotional and it deals with fear and wishing and progressing heavily situations. This book made me sob and then I had to get ready to go to school, so that wasn’t timed well. But this is a book I would recommend and with no romance.

This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

This is my most recent read and I adore it. I am still thinking about making the 4.5 stars 5 stars, but I will probably decide on that after I read the sequel. But this book focuses on friendship, family and also self-love, which is very important. It also is about finding you and who you are as a person no matter what you are, monster or human.

Futhermore by Tahereh Mafi

One of my favorite reads of this year. I adored the adventure Alice and Oliver went on and I still think about it very often and I finished this book in the beginning of January.

Monstress by Marjorie M. Lui

This is a graphic novel and it is the first graphic novel I read. As far as I can remember there is no romance in this, and if there is it is very minimal. I really need to pick the sequel up soon, but I think I will re-read this beforehand, which I do not mind at all.

The Princess Saves Herself In This One by Amanda Lovelace

This is the first poetry book I have every read and I love this so much. This is about love, but not much of romance at all. It is about self-love and becoming who you are even if there a very hard obstacles on the way. I tabbed so many pages because the words spoke to me so much.

Do you have any recommendations for me with as minimal romance as possible? What is your favorite book without romance?

handtekening

One thought on “T5W Books Without Romance

Leave a Reply

