*I was provided with a e-book of this book by the publisher via NetGalley, but my review is all my own opinion and thoughts* 

Into Coraira (Legend of Rhyme #2)

Genre

Children, Fantasy and Adventure

Summary

“The Kingdom of Falmoor has been freed of its curse. The evil one, banished to the dark realm. Finally reunited after an eight year separation, Asher and Ariana Caine learn they possess magic – a magic more powerful when they’re together. But the Caine twins don’t have much time to discover their powers before they face a new threat. This time, it’s not just Rhyme that’s at risk, but also the magical realm of Coraira, as the evil sorcerer Asgall plans to take over all the world’s magic. And he wants the twins’ powers to help him do it. Can the twins defeat Asgall before he destroys everything and everyone they love?”

Characters

Ariana: I enjoy her character. To me, she comes over as a very happy girl who is loved by everyone and very curious. And I like those qualities. The thing I didn’t like about her character and which is more into your face in this book is that she is the Chosen One and a special snowflake. They just learned that she and her brother can do magic, powerful magic, and on the first try she is able to do everything and is very good at using her powers. I would have liked to see them both train and learn and become better with each try. I think that would have done so much more for her character since everything seems to come easy to her.

Asher: I like him the most of the twin, because of the things he has been through in the previous book, he is a bit more careful than his sister. He distrusts people easier, while his sister always thinks the best of people which is also a good quality. But I can actually relate to his carefulness.

Writing

The writing has become better in this book, and I was surprised by the growth the author went through between the first installment and this book. There is more description in this book and everything seems to flow more. We also learn more of the world and the way it came to be, together with the twins we keep learning more and more about this world, its creatures and its mysteries. And I still love the family dynamic in this series.

Ending

Again, the ending is full of plot twists, and this time ones I didn’t see coming. I am very curious to see how Ariana and Asher will get out of the situation they are in. The ending was again a page turner and really intense.

Overall

I can see the growth the author went through in between book. The writing became more fluent and there was more description. I would have liked to see a training happen, so Ariana and Asher could train their powers and that they has to work for it. I did enjoy this story a bit more than the first installment of this series. I hope that the series will continue to grow and become even better. I am very interested to see what will happen in the next one!

Pros:

  • Page turned
  • Great family dynamic
  • Get to see more of the characters

Cons:

  • Character is able to do something powerful in one try.

Overall rating: 4/5 stars

handtekening

Leave a Reply

