Elora of Stone

*I was provided with a e-book of this book by the publisher via NetGalley, but my review is all my own opinion and thoughts* 

Genre

Children, Fantasy and Adventure

Summary

“Four-year-old Asher Caine vanishes while playing near the woods one day with his twin sister Ariana. Eventually, his family believes him to be dead. In the Kingdom of Falmoor, twins are cursed. Ever since the evil sorcerer Larque turned the good witch Elora to stone, all twins in the Kingdom are doomed to be separated, either through death or mysterious disappearances.

Now about to turn thirteen, Ariana learns that her brother is alive, and she must find him in order to save Falmoor. With their magic blood and powerful bond, the Caine twins must release Elora from her stone imprisonment. Only then will Larque be stopped from spreading darkness throughout the kingdom.

Will the twins find each other in time? Can they save Falmoor from evil and remove the curse of the twins forever?”

Characters

Asher: He is such a sweet kid. And he basically does what every child does around 4 years old, which get him into trouble. He goes off on his own, while his parents don’t want him to do this, and like I said, this gets him into trouble.

Ariana: She is a very positive child and she is also very loving. When everyone is giving up hope or are starting to lose hope, she stays positive and smiles. She has a great bond with her fairy friend and is overall a very caring person.

Since this book is pretty short, we didn’t get that much character growth, so I hope to see more of that in the next few books.

Writing

The writing is pretty simplistic, which is great if you look at the target readers. The descriptions were great and it felt like it really was a magical place they were at.

Ending

The ending was pretty intense, it had me turn (slide) the pages and I was awake until 0.30 am to finish this e-book. Which I haven’t been able to do in a while, stay up to finish a book. It also had some unanswered questions which made me want to pick up the next installment in this series right away.

Overall

Overall it was a pretty enjoyable read. The beginning gave a bit too much information at once in my opinion and everything happened very fast, but after the first few chapters I was really into this book. I actually stayed up late in order to finish it. When we were getting to the actually plot I couldn’t put it down anymore. I had to be firm with myself, I had to finish this review before I could move into the next book in this series, otherwise I would forget what happened in which book. Otherwise I would have started reading the next book the minute I finished the first book. I am very curious to see what will happen in the second installment of this series, since there are some things which need to be picked up. And I am also looking forward to more character growth in the next few books.

Pros:

  • Page turner
  • Creative world and creatures
  • Family as its center

Cons:

  • The beginning provides a lot of information
  • The story begun to take off from chapter 6

Overall rating: 4/5 stars

Have you read this book? Would you be interested in reading this book?

handtekening

Leave a Reply

