Made You Up

Trigger warning: Visual and audio hallucinations and abusive parent

Genre

Young Adult, Romance, Contemporary and Mental Illness

Summary

“Alex fights a daily battle to figure out the difference between reality and delusion. Armed with a take-no-prisoners attitude, her camera, a Magic 8-Ball, and her only ally (her little sister), Alex wages a war against her schizophrenia, determined to stay sane long enough to get into college. She’s pretty optimistic about her chances until classes begin, and she runs into Miles. Didn’t she imagine him? Before she knows it, Alex is making friends, going to parties, falling in love, and experiencing all the usual rites of passage for teenagers. But Alex is used to being crazy. She’s not prepared for normal.”

Characters

Alex: I adore Alex and her comments. I love the facts that she was able to step over her fears and to make friends. She really feels authentic and I would love to be her friend. She has snarky remarks and I love her interaction with Miles. There is told that Alex is paranoid, but I didn’t see that much of it, she seemed more neurotic to me. But I am not a doctor and I am not that familiar with the symptoms of schizophrenia and being paranoid.

Miles: Miles is a great character. He is very complex and doesn’t show how he is feeling, he also shows signs of autism but as far as I can remember it isn’t stated that he has a form of autism.

Writing

It was a great experience reading from Alex point of view. Because of her hallucinations, you start to question what is real and what not. And I have been surprised a lot by what isn’t real. I do have some issues with Alex her parents and Miles his father, but that is also a pet peeve of mine.

Ending

My feelings are still hurt from a part of the ending! I felt so bad for Alex, I really feel connected to her and I just wanted her to have a happy ending. But the other part of the ending did feel a bit far fetched to me, I am sure that I might happen but I am not really on board with it. Overall the conclusion to this book was amazing.

Overall

I keep thinking about Alex in particular. Because you were reading from her perspective, I was wondering with her what was real and what not. I loved that there was mental health in this book, and that there was talked about autism. Some of the characters have parents from different countries (mostly Europe I believe). I can’t really say if the representation of Schizophrenia or hallucinations is accurate. I tried to look up reviews of someone who has been through it, but I couldn’t find on.

Overall rating: 4/5 stars 

Did you read this book? What are your thoughts on it?

handtekening

Leave a Reply

