Allegiant

Genre

Young Adult and Dystopia

Summary

“The faction-based society that Tris Prior once believed in is shattered – fractured by violence and power struggles and scarred by loss and betrayal. So when offered a chance to explore the world past the limits she’s known, Tris is ready. Perhaps beyond the fence she and Tobias will find a simple new life together, free from complicated lies, tangled loyalties and painful memories.

But Tris’s new reality is even more alarming than the one she left behind. Old discoveries are quickly rendered meaningless. Explosive new truths change the hearts of those she loves. And once again Tris must battle to comprehend the complexities of human nature – and of herself – while facing impossible choices about courage, allegiance, sacrifice and love.”

Characters

My opinion of Tris and Tobias/Four haven’t changed since I read Insurgent. They still annoy me and I felt like Tris didn’t develop that much as a character. Four did, and I started to like him just a bit more, because of the struggles going on inside him.

This isn’t really a spoiler but it was something I was bothered with. Why did Peter go with them? He didn’t have anything to do in this story (expect for the end), he was just there. And that really annoyed me.

Writing

The romance didn’t sit well with me at all. All they did was fight or kiss (I really started paying attention to the kiss part). Someone is sad, they kiss; someone hears something live changing and you want to comfort them, they kiss; you make up, they kiss. Also something that was bothering me was that they were just assuming how the other thought or felt. Why not ask, if you see someone is troubled?! I am sorry for going into a rant, but I really didn’t like this. I can appreciate romance if it is done well, even if I am not on board with the couple. But this isn’t what a relationship should be in my opinion, that is bound to go wrong (now I’ll stop).

I missed the world building, certainly since we are getting to see more of the world. I felt like, there was more attention for the drama between Tris and Four and for the plot, than for the world and side characters.

This book is also writing in the Tris’ point of view and Four’s point of view. I had to look back to see with who I was in that chapter or I would just read on and see when the other was mentioned. It didn’t work out for me, in my opinion Four and Tris didn’t have their own voice in their own chapters.

Ending

It felt for me that the ending was just there, and everything was quickly resolved and just easily fixed. There is also a daring move which I can appreciate, not ever writer does that, at least not in the books I have read so far.

Overall

I went into the book with low expectations and I am glad that I did it. I didn’t enjoy this book, the romance bothered. I was constantly annoyed with the main characters. And the ending was done in the last couple of pages. I did like the daring step Veronica Roth took and the last chapter was great. At first I gave it a 3 stars, but now that I am writing this review, I am lowering it, because I can’t name that any good things about it.

Overall rating: 2/5 stars

Have you read Allegiant or will you be reading it?

handtekening

2 thoughts on “Allegiant by Veronica Roth *Spoiler Free* Review

  1. Agh SAME, I always had to look back at the beginning of the chapters to see who was narrating it! So frustrating! This book was definitely a let down coming from Veronica Roth and a series that had a great start. Wait and the cover is different than the one I’m used to? Sometimes it depends on the country…I’m not a big fan of those ones though.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

