throne-of-glass

Genre

Young Adult, Fantasy and Romance

Goodreads summary

“In the dark, filthy salt mines of Endovier, an eighteen-year-old girl is serving a life sentence. She is a trained assassin, the best of her kind, but she made a fatal mistake. She got caught.

Young Captain Westfall offers her a deal: her freedom in return for one huge sacrifice. Celaena must represent the prince in a to-the-death tournament—fighting the most gifted thieves and assassins in the land. Live or die, Celaena will be free. Win or lose, she is about to discover her true destiny. But will her assassin’s heart be melted?”

Characters

Celaena: I am going to be honest, the first half of this book, I was so annoyed with Celaena. She was this perfect girl: she is beautiful, the deadliest assassin in the country, she speaks another language almost no one speaks, she likes reading and she can play piano. She didn’t have any negative treads… When we were over the half of the book we got to know more this about Celaena and I started to warm up to her.

Dorian: I think he is the standard male prince in YA Fantasy books. The prince how wants to be different and falls in love with the main protagonist, but he has also dated a lot of girls just for fun. He is teasing, funny but caring as well. I liked his character, but I didn’t love him or found him to be different to other male characters from books.

Chaol: I also think Chaol is a standard male character. The silent and observing character, how is actually pretty soft and caring. He seemed to me more like a brother figure to Celaena than a potential romance partner. Of the two main male characters I liked Chaol the most, I am more of the silent types.

Writing

I would have loved to see more of the world, of course we will get that in the next books (I hope). I am interested in other creatures who live in that world. There also wasn’t much character development in my opinion, but I would love to see that too in the next books. I like the descriptions of Sarah J. Maas.

Ending

I could have predicted the ending mostly myself. But I did like the ending, it was fast paced and it made me want to move on to the next book.

Overall

If you think of the fact that this is her debut novel, she did a good job on it. I was interested throughout the book, to continue reading. I hope to see more character and world development in the next few books and I am interested to see what will happen. Overall this book is enjoyable and a good basic for the rest of the series.

Overall rating: 3.5 stars

Have you read Throne of Glass? What was your opinion on it?

handtekening

Leave a Reply

