a-study-in-charlotte

Genre

Young Adult, Mystery and Contemporary

Goodreads summary

“The last thing Jamie Watson wants is a rugby scholarship to Sherringford, a Connecticut prep school just an hour away from his estranged father. But that’s not the only complication: Sherringford is also home to Charlotte Holmes, the famous detective’s great-great-great-granddaughter, who has inherited not only Sherlock’s genius but also his volatile temperament. From everything Jamie has heard about Charlotte, it seems safer to admire her from afar.

From the moment they meet, there’s a tense energy between them, and they seem more destined to be rivals than anything else. But when a Sherringford student dies under suspicious circumstances, ripped straight from the most terrifying of the Sherlock Holmes stories, Jamie can no longer afford to keep his distance. Jamie and Charlotte are being framed for murder, and only Charlotte can clear their names. But danger is mounting and nowhere is safe—and the only people they can trust are each other.”

Characters

Charlotte: I didn’t like Charlotte at the beginning of the book, to me it felt like the author was trying very hard to make her like Sherlock. I don’t mind it if a character who is a descendent from Sherlock, is like him, but that was just it. There was at the beginning nothing that made Charlotte, Charlotte. That did happen towards the end.

Jamie: I am pretty neutral about Jamie. He is a good character and he reacts the way other people would in the situations he was in. I didn’t like the idea of him being in love with Charlotte. I would rather have them being great friends than being a couple.

Writing

I wasn’t that interested while reading the first half of the book. I wasn’t really connecting with the characters and mostly I was annoyed by Charlotte. But when we got closer to the end, I was starting to enjoy it more, the plot was picking up and Charlotte was turning into her own character.

Ending

As the story was continuing on I got more and more interested in who the culprit was. The ending wrapped everything nicely up about the case and set a beginning for the next book without leaving anything unanswered just for the sake of making a sequel. Of course I have some questions, but it only seems logical to me that they would be answered in the next two books, since those questions came because of the ending.

Overall

I did overall enjoy reading this story, the beginning was slow but I am glad that I continued. This is not the best first book in a series, but it was enjoyable. I will be continuing on with this trilogy, just not right away. I do hope to get the second book (which is already out), by the end of this year.

Overall rating: 3 stars

Have you read this book or will you be reading this book? What was your opinion on it?

handtekening

8 thoughts on “A Study In Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro *Spoiler Free* Review

    1. Yes! I am like that as well! Why do most authors have the desire to always pair up their main characters. I really don’t get it, I would rather read a great friendship than a meh romance.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I know. I wish their were more books out there where the two leads don’t end up together. I like my BrOTPs, and I feel like they’re awfully neglected. Like sometimes, I do ship the leads, but other times, I’m like, “Now hug!” I just have a soft spot for friendships.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yeah me too! And when you are a teenager the most important things in your life are your family and friends. And those are most of the time neglected in YA. Most of the time I am like you “Just hug!” 😂

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I know! I wish more books focused on familial and platonic relationships. Those are more relatable. Yeah, there’s this one show where I don’t think the two leads will end up together (thank goodness) and I’m always like, “You are best friends. Act like it and hug!” 😂 BrOTPs can be even more stressful than OTPs.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I read this book and this is basically what I thought too (I gave it four stars). Charlotte especially annoyed me so much but at the same time she really started to grow on me near the end. I actually loved Jamie because he was so cute and adorable, but t may have also been comparatively he was the best. I wasn’t totally on board for the romance in this book, but her second one makes me so on board( it’s so angsty though!!)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

