Trigger warning! Depression and suicide

13 Reasons Why

Genre

Young Adult and Mental Illness

Goodreads summary

“You can’t stop the future.

You can’t rewind the past.

The only way to learn the secret is to press play.

Clay Jensen returns home to find a strange package with his name on it. Inside he discovers several cassette tapes recorded by Hannah Baker – his classmate and first love – who committed suicide two weeks earlier.

Hannah’s voice explains there are thirteen reasons why she killed herself. Clay is one of them. If he listens, he’ll find out why.

All through the night, Clay keeps listening – and what he discovers changes his life… forever.”

Characters

There are multiple characters in this book which are important, but I am only going to talk about the main two, because otherwise there will be spoilers.

Hannah: Hannah has left the tapes behind to all the 13 people who have played a role in the fact that she decided that she would commit suicide. Throughout the tapes I can feel her emotions and the pain she is going though. She did make a decision I don’t agree with at all and she probably wouldn’t have either if she was in the right mind set.

Clay: Clay is genially a good guy. While following him through the book I wondered with him, what he had done to Hannah. I felt his anger towards the other people and I felt his sorrow and his regrets. He does everything Hannah (from the tapes) tells him to do and while he continues listening to the tapes, he begins to understand Hannah more than ever.

Writing

I do have to say that it sometimes was hard for me to distinguish who was talking even though in the book the tapes were cursive. Because Clay’s thoughts and actions were explained while he was listening to the tapes, it was harder for my brain to switch between them. I do have to say that the tapes are realistically written, it sometimes felt like Hannah was talking to me and it was almost like I could hear her talk to me.

Ending

The ending wasn’t spectacular on its own, because you know that Hannah has committed suicide, otherwise Clay wouldn’t have gotten the tapes. His reaction, though, was just the way I was feeling. I felt sorry for him and for Hannah.

Overall

It was a very impacting story to read. I flew though it and it was nearly impossible to put down. I could feel the emotions Hannah and Clay had, and I could relate to the emotions of Hannah. It does make you think about your actions. It might not even be a big deal to you, but it might be to the other. It sometimes amazes me how cruel people can be.

Overall rating: 5 stars

So as I said in the title, this was a Buddy Read together with Jasmine. I had an amazing time reading The Hate U Give and 13 Reasons Why with her, she is a wonderful person. By The Hate U Give she did a spotlight Q&A with me, and for 13 Reasons Why, I did a spotlight Q&A with her. So here are the questions and Jasmine’s answers!

Jasmine

1) What is your opinion on how the subject suicide is handled in 13 Reasons Why?

I really like it. It’s presented in a different angle. It’s refreshing. It still deliver the message about suicides and bring awareness to readers. The cassette tapes concept is a great idea! It’s definitely an attention getter.

2) What is your opinion on Hannah’s situation?

Despite Hannah’s knowledge of who to trust and who’s untrustworthy, I dislike that she still went ahead and did it. She could have prevented herself a lot of trouble if she avoids it. In other areas, I do feel sorry for her, especially when she needed those encouragement notes but it was stolen from her.

3) Who do you dislike the most from the tapes and why?

I dislike Marcus. He doesn’t have the right to be mad at Tyler because what he does is just as worse and I dislike that he’s not aware of his actions.

4) What would you have done in Clay’s position?

I would have talked more since he got along with her so well and they had a good conversation going. If he keep up with the conversation and tell her how he feels, she might open up to him more. Also, he should’ve invited her for a walk, leave the party and talk during their walk home.

5) Would you recommend this book to others and why?

Yes, I still would like to recommend this book to everyone. It delivers a powerful message from teens to teens. It’s easy to read and readers can relate to.

6) What message do you take away from this book?

Every action has consequences. Compliment more, because some people may have been waiting to hear it and it will do them a world of wonder.

Bonus Question: Will you watch the Netflix show, now that you have read the book?

Yes. I would like to. But I will not be watching it because I have since cancelled my membership with Netflix so that I could focus to read and review more books! haha..

Question for you all: Have you read 13 Reasons Why, and will you be watching the Netflix show?

handtekening

8 thoughts on “13 Reasons Why by Jay Asher *Spoiler Free* Review / Buddy Read with Jasmine @HowUsefulIsIt

  1. Great review! I’ve read both the book and watched the series and they’ve both made a very strong impression on me. It’s such an interesting, emotional and important story.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

