I Buddy read this book together with Jasmine from How Useful Is It. Here is her review of The Hate U Give and she did a spotlight Q&A with me over this book. We will be reading another book together: 13 Reasons Why and then I will do a spotlight Q&A with her. So stay tuned for that!

the-hate-u-give

Genre

Young Adult, Contemporary and Fiction

Goodreads Synopsis 

“Sixteen-year-old Starr Carter moves between two worlds: the poor neighborhood where she lives and the fancy suburban prep school she attends. The uneasy balance between these worlds is shattered when Starr witnesses the fatal shooting of her childhood best friend Khalil at the hands of a police officer. Khalil was unarmed.

Soon afterward, his death is a national headline. Some are calling him a thug, maybe even a drug dealer and a gangbanger. Protesters are taking to the streets in Khalil’s name. Some cops and the local drug lord try to intimidate Starr and her family. What everyone wants to know is: what really went down that night? And the only person alive who can answer that is Starr.

But what Starr does or does not say could upend her community. It could also endanger her life.”

Characters

Our main character is Starr, she lives a double life: one at her almost white school and one in the black neighborhood. Whenever she is in one environment she acts different than when she is in the other. Starr’s voice in this book was very unique. Her thoughts and feelings were explained to us and the dilemma she goes through as well. I loved Starr as a character, even though she was scared she did what she thought was the right thing to do.

Writing

I have to say that I did have some trouble getting into the slang that is used in this novel. I sometimes had to read a sentence twice or more times to understand what it said. A few chapters in it became easier to understand.

The thing that I loved the most was the family. You felt the love they felt for each other and how strong their bond as a family is, which I miss in a lot of YA novels. I loved every character that was part of a family, and you felt everyone struggle throughout the difficult situation they were in. The sibling relationship felt like my own relationship with my siblings, a lot of teasing but you stand up and protect the one that needs it.

Ending

The ending made me cry. It shows the reality and the way people feel in that situation. I can’t go into debt about the ending but it had a great impact on me. This whole novel was amazing and mind blowing.

Overall

I adore The Hate U Give, I would recommend it to everyone and I also think it is a must read, because it talks about an important topic. For once I wasn’t even annoyed by the romance. It has been a while since I wanted to continue reading this much, before I knew it, I was done. It had me laugh out loud and made me cry.

Overall Rating: 5 stars

handtekening

4 thoughts on “The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas *Spoiler Free* Review / Buddy Read with Jasmine @HowUsefulIsIt

Leave a Reply

