I was tagged by Brookie Crowles for this tag in her post. So basically this tag is going to be me talking about my Unpopular Opinions. Before I start, just the fact that I don’t like a book or a book series doesn’t mean that I am attacking anybody who loves it, this is just my opinion. There might be a book I love and you don’t like. Everyone has their own preferences when it comes to books, or things in general.

Now that I have said that, let’s get started!

A popular book or series that you didn’t like

  • Paper Towns – I was constantly annoyed by the main character. There are three parts in this book and I only enjoyed the last one, and that was like 60 pages of a 300 paged book.
  • The Divergent series – I still need to read Allegiant, but I got spoiled for the ending, so I know what is going to happen. But again, I am mostly annoyed by the main characters.

A popular book or series that everyone else seems to hate but you love

I don’t think I have a book for this one. There are a lot of book I wish that more people would read, but I have already talked a lot about those books.

A love triangle where the main character ended up with the wrong person or and OTP (One True Pairing) that you don’t like

Rose and Dimitri from The Vampire Academy series. It is not that I don’t like them together, I am just neutral about it. I personally don’t really like romance in general in books. If I pick up a Fantasy book, I don’t pick it up because I want to read some romance going on, I want to get invested in this new world.

A popular book genre that you hardly reach for

  • Romance
  • YA Contemporary – Which basically goes hand in hand with Romance. It is not that I hate its genre, I am just not that interested in it. but whenever I hear one talk about a Contemporary book which is different from the rest, I will put it on my TBR list and then I’ll see when I will get to it.

A popular or beloved character that you do not like

Severus Snape – I don’t care that in the end he was a hero, throughout the rest of the books he was a bully. He isn’t better than James Potter when it comes to this point, maybe even worse, because he knows what it feels like to be humiliated and bullied all the time. And still he does it himself when he is a teacher. A teacher! Teachers shouldn’t be allowed to do this to students.

A popular author that you can’t seem to get in to

John Green? I did love The Fault In Our Stars, but I disliked Paper Towns, I am still giving him a chance because I own Will Grayson, Will Grayson and Looking For Alaska by him.

A popular book trope that you’re tired of seeing

The horrible or missing parent. Do I need to say more about this?

A popular series that you have no interest in reading

  • The Maze Runner series
  • The Selection series
  • Me Before You

The saying goes, “The book is always better than the movie”, but what movie or TV show adaptation do you prefer more than the book

The Hobbit – I have watched the movies and loved the movies, but when I tried to read it, I just couldn’t get through it.

I Tag

Savannah from the Book Prophet

Lia from Lost In A Story

Jasmine from How Useful Is It

Tanya from Scribbled Dreams

Jemma from Jemms Reads

So my question for today is: Which popular book do you dislike?

handtekening

 

8 thoughts on “Does Popularity Mean I’ll Like It?

  1. Yay! You tagged me! I don’t know why but I love voicing my unpopular opinions about books. I guess it just allows me to vent. I completely agree with Paper Towns and Divergent.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for the tag! I actually read all the books you said you have no interest in reading, I did enjoy reading them but I can definitely see why you wouldn’t like to read them. I almost never reach for romance books either, I don’t mind romance being a theme in the book but when that is the entire plot I have very little interest in reading it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

