Hello Readers!

I have decided to do seasonal TBRs and since we are already a month into winter this one will be a two month TBR. I made this decision because I was putting a lot of pressure on myself to finish the monthly TBR I had created for myself, while I also wanted to read other books. So this TBR will consist of a few books I will be reading in February and March, and the rest I can decide as I go.

And from Monday on my days are going to be filled with stress for my intern and my thesis. I have come to the last stage of my college and I want to make it, so I won’t be having that much time to read, I assume. So with the seasonal TBR I am hoping that I can pick up a book I want to read at that moment.

I will still be doing monthly wrap up’s, just not the monthly TBRs anymore. And I will be deciding per month if I will be reading the books of the book clubs I am in, if I really want to read that book. So here are the books I am planning on reading during February and March.

The Lie Tree by Fances Hardinge

This is the February book for the Read! Set! READ! Book club I am in. I have had my eyes on this book for a while, this cover and the title are pretty interesting and that is why I am picking this one up in February.

“It was not enough. All knowledge- any knowledge – called to Faith, and there was a delicious, poisonous pleasure in stealing it unseen.

Faith has a thirst for science and secrets that the rigid confines of her class cannot supress. And so it is that she discovers her disgraced father’s journals, filled with the scribbled notes and theories of a man driven close to madness. Tales of a strange tree which, when told a lie, will uncover a truth: the greater the lie, the greater the truth revealed to the liar. Faith’s search for the tree leads her into great danger – for where lies seduce, truths shatter . . .”

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

I have been wanting to read this series ever since I got my hands on the first book. But I never actually did. So I am making myself read it by putting it on this book.

“After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin.

Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king’s council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she’ll serve the kingdom for four years and then be granted her freedom. Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilarating. But she’s bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her … but it’s the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best.

Then one of the other contestants turns up dead … quickly followed by another. Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined.”

Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

The last one of this trilogy comes out in February, so I thought that is a good reason to put this on my list and I am really intrigued by what this story is about. I want to read V.E. Schwab’s books this year, so I am starting with this one.

“Kell is one of the last travelers–magicians with a rare, coveted ability to travel between parallel universes connected by one magical city. 

There’s Grey London, dirty and boring, without any magic, and with one mad King–George III. Red London, where life and magic are revered–and where Kell was raised alongside Rhy Maresh, the roguish heir to a flourishing empire. White London–a place where people fight to control magic and the magic fights back, draining the city to its very bones. And once upon a time, there was Black London. But no one speaks of that now.

Officially, Kell is the Red traveler, ambassador of the Maresh empire, carrying the monthly correspondences between the royals of each London. Unofficially, Kell is a smuggler, servicing people willing to pay for even the smallest glimpses of a world they’ll never see. It’s a defiant hobby with dangerous consequences, which Kell is now seeing firsthand.

Fleeing into Grey London, Kell runs into Delilah Bard, a cut-purse with lofty aspirations. She robs him, saves him from a deadly enemy, and finally forces Kell to spirit her to another world for a proper adventure.

Now perilous magic is afoot, and treachery lurks at every turn. To save all of the worlds, they’ll first need to stay alive.”

Dark Matter by Blake Crouch

I have gotten this book as a present because I complete by internship. The owner of the bookstore said that he flew through the book, it really is fast paced and it isn’t that long.

““Are you happy with your life?”

Those are the last words Jason Dessen hears before the masked abductor knocks him unconscious.

Before he awakens to find himself strapped to a gurney, surrounded by strangers in hazmat suits.

Before a man Jason’s never met smiles down at him and says, “Welcome back, my friend.”

In this world he’s woken up to, Jason’s life is not the one he knows. His wife is not his wife. His son was never born. And Jason is not an ordinary college physics professor, but a celebrated genius who has achieved something remarkable. Something impossible.

Is it this world or the other that’s the dream? And even if the home he remembers is real, how can Jason possibly make it back to the family he loves? The answers lie in a journey more wondrous and horrifying than anything he could’ve imagined—one that will force him to confront the darkest parts of himself even as he battles a terrifying, seemingly unbeatable foe.

From the author of the bestselling Wayward Pines trilogy, Dark Matter is a brilliantly plotted tale that is at once sweeping and intimate, mind-bendingly strange and profoundly human—a relentlessly surprising science-fiction thriller about choices, paths not taken, and how far we’ll go to claim the lives we dream of.”

Illuminae by Jay Kristoff & Amie Kaufman

This one has been on my currently reading list for a few months now. I feel like I really need to sit down and take two full days to read it, to completely get what is going on. I have read the first 80 pages I believe and I really need to get into it and read active to understand what is going on. But I really want to finish it.

This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest thing she’d have to do.

This afternoon, her planet was invaded.

The year is 2575, and two rival megacorporations are at war over a planet that’s little more than an ice-covered speck at the edge of the universe. Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it. With enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and Ezra—who are barely even talking to each other—are forced to fight their way onto an evacuating fleet, with an enemy warship in hot pursuit.

But their problems are just getting started. A deadly plague has broken out and is mutating, with terrifying results; the fleet’s AI, which should be protecting them, may actually be their enemy; and nobody in charge will say what’s really going on. As Kady hacks into a tangled web of data to find the truth, it’s clear only one person can help her bring it all to light: the ex-boyfriend she swore she’d never speak to again.

Told through a fascinating dossier of hacked documents—including emails, schematics, military files, IMs, medical reports, interviews, and more—Illuminae is the first book in a heart-stopping, high-octane trilogy about lives interrupted, the price of truth, and the courage of everyday heroes.”

So this is the rest of my Winter TBR. The other books I will read next to these, you will see in my Wrap Ups. What book are you planning to read this winter?

I also want to tell you guys that my laptop is being annoying lately, it freezes continually and I want to get it fixed so it will stay alive for 5 more months and I won’t lose my thesis if my laptop suddenly stops working. I am bringing it away on Friday (because I only have time then), so because I probably won’t be having my laptop I might not be able to update from Friday on. I am going to try to update on someone else’s computer, but then you know why I might not.

handtekening

6 thoughts on “Winter 2017 TBR

    1. I have been wanting to read more sci-fi as well (other than Star Wars :P), I am still not really sure if I am going to like the way Illuminae is written, but if I don’t read it, I would never find out.

      Like

Leave a Reply

