furthermore

Genre

Fantasy, Middle Grade, Adventure

Goodreads Summary

“Colour and magic combine in this enchanting new middle grade fantasy from the bestselling author of the Shatter Me series.

Born as blank as canvas in a world brimming with colour and magic, Alice’s pale skin and milk-white hair mark her as an outcast. Because, for the people of Ferenwood, colour and magic are one and the same. And since the disappearance of her beloved father, Alice is more determined than ever to prove herself and her own magical abilities.

To do so she’ll have to travel into the mythical, dangerous land of Furthermore, with the help of a fiercely annoying boy named Oliver. But nothing in Furthermore is as it seems, and it will take all of Alice’s wits to find her father and return him safely home.”

Characters

Alice: She is an amazing character, she is bold and funny, and she isn’t afraid to speak her mind. She also wants compete with Oliver on make good choice and just not be dumb when it comes to information about Furthermore, but she has never heard of it in her life. Through the whole adventure in Furthermore, she is determinate to find her father and she is willing to do anything to accomplish that.

Oliver: At the beginning I didn’t like him at all, but as the story continued on I started to like him more and more. At the beginning of their adventure he keeps a lot of information from Alice and is making the decisions on his own, but later on he learns to trust Alice and Alice learns to trust him.

Writing

The writing in this book is just beautiful. The way colors, sounds and surroundings are described by Tahereh Mafi are outstanding. If her writing is as beautiful in all her books as in this book, I will read them. And I love the way the character development is written in this book.

Ending

The ending is a bit rushed, but I can overlook it. You know the ending is coming because there are less and less pages as you continue reading, but I would have preferred it if the ending was a bit more stretched out. But the ending was what I expected and the question I had throughout the whole book as answered.

Overall

I love this book, I really do. I gave me a bit of Wonderland vibe, even though it hasn’t been said that it is an Alice in Wonderland retelling. I loved the world of Furthermore, I loved exploring it through the eyes of Alice, who knew nothing about Furthermore.

And I want a sequel, so badly. And then we can explore Ferenwood. I don’t mind it if it would be a novella, I’m fine with that but I do want more of this world and more of Alice.

Overall rating: 5 Stars

Have you read Furthermore? What was your opinion on this book? Don’t you think the cover is beautiful?!

handtekening

2 thoughts on “Furthermore by Tahereh Mafi *Spoiler Free* Review

Leave a Reply

