Hello readers!

So this review is made together with Lia from Lost In A Story and Tanya from Scribbled Dreams. This was the first ever buddy read I have done, and I really enjoyed. It is a lot of fun to read a book together and then afterwards discuss everything you had an opinion about.

I also would like to say that this review will contain spoilers! So you have been warned!

Goodreads blurb

“Feyre is a huntress.

She thinks nothing of slaughtering a wolf to capture its prey. But, like all mortals, she fears what lingers mercilessly beyond the forest. And she will learn that taking the life of a magical creature comes at a high price…

Imprisoned in an enchanted court in her enemy’s kingdom, Feyre is free to roam but forbidden to escape. Her captor’s body bears the scars of fighting, and his face is always masked – but his piercing stare draws her ever closer. As Feyre’s feeling for Tamlin begin to burn through every warning she’s been told about his kind, an ancient, wicked shadow grows.

Feyre must find a way to break a spell, or lose her heart forever.”

Who is your favorite character?

Tanya: Feyre the main character is my favourite because she literally goes through hell to prove her love. And she has been portrayed as a strong character since the beginning of the book. But her growth into a better person is seen towards the end.

Lia: It was Feyre all throughout the book until I was near the end and then I didn’t like her that much anymore. She was really smart and tactical in some parts but in other parts she acted so recklessly and didn’t think before acting. So I think Lucien then? Or Rhysand, although he wasn’t really a nice person. Rhysand is a really interesting character, he’s got both good and bad in him.

Debbie: Definitely Lucien, I love him character.

Did the book live up to your expectations?

Tanya: No. I had higher expectations and they were not met. I can see why this book was so hyped. I still liked reading it. A few things were brilliantly written.

Lia: Not really. Since this book has been so hyped, I expected to like it a lot more than I did. It wasn’t that amazing.

Debbie: No because this book was so hyped up, I had great expectations and I wasn’t as blown away as I thought I would be. But I still enjoyed it.

What could have been improved in the book?

Tanya: The book was slow in the beginning and the out of nowhere everything started happening all at once. So if a few exciting things happened in the beginning it would have been great.

Lia: It was somewhat slow, not much happened during half the book. The second half was better, although maybe it was a little rushed.

Debbie: The way the story of the faerie were told. It was basically told to Feyre what Tamlin’s and Lucien’s pasts were and it was told to her that there was a curse. She didn’t discover any of this in a creative way in my opinion.

My Thoughts

This book was pretty hyped up for me. And because it was so hyped up, I expected it to be a 5 star read, but it was not. I did enjoy reading it, but I didn’t have that feeling that I needed to continue and I needed to know what was going on.

The main character Feyre did make some dumb decisions for someone who should be smart and I didn’t feel that much for the romance. So on one side I am expected to see what will happen in the next book but on the other hand, that book is also so hyped up, I am wondering if it can live up to the expectations I have for that one.

I am planning on reading A Court Of Mist And Fury in April so that I can read the last in the trilogy (?), the one that comes out in May, right after it. Because I know that I would want to read it the minute I have finished ACOMAF.

Overall rating: 3.5 stars

Because this is a buddy read, we have split up our review over our three blogs. So in order to see every question that we answered you need to keep an eye out on their blogs as well, and I will be linking them in here as well.

Lia                          Tanya

– Debbie –

4 thoughts on “A Court Of Thorns And Roses by Sarah J. Maas | Buddy Read Review with Lia and Tanya

    1. Yes there are a lot of talk about this book , but someone I trust says that the second book is much better than the first. It still has its problems, but it is better. So I will give it a try.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

