Hello Readers!

Today I will be talking about the top 5 classics I have read in 2016. Now here comes the twist, I haven’t read 5 classics this year. So I will be listing two I really want to read.

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

This was the first Jane Austen book I have read and I really had a hard time getting into the writing style, and that made it really hard for me to understand what was happening and who was saying what. But I loved the ending, I was practically fangirling over Mr. Darcy.

Persuasion by Jane Austen

This was the first classic I read with the support of an audiobook. And I really enjoyed that experience, I understood the story much better than with Pride and Prejudice. I would have given this book a five stars if the ending wasn’t rushed, at least that is how I felt about the ending.

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll

This was my first classic ever and I really enjoyed, I think I will be re-reading it once I have gotten myself a copy of Through The Looking Glass. It wasn’t written that hard so it was pretty easy for me to understand what was happening, as a Dutch reader, even though there is a lot nonsense in that and that is what I really enjoy about it.

A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens

I haven’t read this classic yet, but I will be during Bookmas and I am really looking forward to it, because it fits in with Christmas.

The Complete Sherlock Holmes by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

I have been wanting to have this beautiful Sherlock Holmes edition since forever! And I have an order placed at my favorite book store, so I will get a notification once it is being printed again, because it isn’t and that makes me sad. So I have to be a little bit more patient and then it will hopefully be there.

What is your favorite classic of all time? And what is the best classic you read this year?

– Debbie –

 

6 thoughts on “Bookmas Day 5 Top 5 Classics Read In 2016

  1. I loved Pride & Prejudice, and of course Sherlock Holmes! A few other of my favourites are Animal Farm by George Orwell and Anthem by Ayn Rand, which I actually never heard anyone talk about before. I wonder why that is…
    I kind of liked Alice in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass but they were both really confusing and after reading both of them twice I still think everything is really vague, which is, I guess, the beauty of the story.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Animal Farm is about a farm with intelligent animals (they can speak and such) and they decide to revolt against the farmer. They take control, but of course that doesn’t end well.
        Anthem is about a society where individualism is banned, there is no “I”, only we. So nothing you do, is for yourself. But then one of the people in that society does what is forbidden and falls in love.
        They’re both really interesting books because they both really make you think about how the world is. Also if you like history, you can see parallels in the world and the books. The animals in Animal Farm are all based on real-life people in the revolution in the Sovjet Union.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

