Frosty the Snowman,
Was a jolly happy soul,
With a corncob pipe and a button nose,
And two eyes made of coal.
Frosty the Snowman,
Is a fairytale, they say.
He was made of snow,
But the children know
How he came to life one day.

Frosty The Snowman – Perry Como

Hello Readers!

It is day 2 of Bookmas and today I will be listing of the YA debut novels that came out in 2016 that I loved.

So for this list I have one book that I actually read and really loved that is a debut novel and I have one book that I haven’t read yet, but know I will love that is a debut novel.

This Is Where It Ends by Marieke Nijkamp

I was really sucked into this story when I read it. I have read it in one day and I was so flabbergasted by this story, it made me emotion and I really was invested into the story. Marieke Nijkamp is also an author who is Dutch, so that made me even more excited to start reading it. Overall I really “enjoyed” this debut novel, but I did have some issues with it.

The Forgetting Time by Sharon Guskin

I saw this book on the airport when we were about to fly back to the Netherlands in London. And the cover really intrigued me, it also had a ‘buy 1 get the second for the half price’ kind of sticker on it. So I really wanted it, but there wasn’t any book with the same sticker that I liked. So I ended up buying it here in the Netherlands. And the cover gave me a winter feeling, so that is why I really would like to read it in December.

Of course there are more debut novels that I want to read, but I don’t have a copy of those, so that is why I went for The Forgetting Time and because it is on my TBR for Bookmas.

Which debut novel was your favorite of 2016?

– Debbie –

Leave a Reply

