Goodreads | Amazon | Bol.com

Genres

Fiction, Adult, Contemporary

Goodreads summary

“J. Schlenker’s debut novel, “Jessica Lost Her Wobble,” a finalist in the 2014 William Faulkner – William Wisdom Creative Writing Competition.
“Jessica Lost Her Wobble” is psychological in nature. At mid-life, Jessie, the main character, after many upsets, moves to an island for contemplation of her life and to make a new start. While there she reflects back on her beginnings in the early 20th century in England, her move to New York City and marriage at a young age while making friends with a girl half her age. This friendship opens up a new world for her and helps her explore her own soul. Jessie becomes a part of the island, otherwise known as a local as she re-invents her life there and finds love. But all is not as it seems.”

Characters

Jessica/Jessie: She goes through a lot of character development throughout the novel, in the beginning she seems to be in a kind of depression, you get to see bits of her life before the island she lives on and then she meets someone. And this someone changes her and in the rest of the novel Jessie is finding herself, in my opinion, and learns again to enjoy her life. Jessie is a wonderful character, she has her flaws and insecurities but she also learns to stand up for herself and to form an opinion.

Writing

The writing is great, the use of the words in the novel are very on point and I love the description that is used. Some of the dialogue is placed underneath each other without the explanation who says what, which made me sometime read it again to understand that (like I have with Jane Austen’s books). Aside from that the dialogue was great.

The story takes place in 1959 and Jessie lives on this island that is kind of treated as a paradise, everyone who lives there has been through something in their lives and on that island they don’t have to talk about or face their problems, and I liked the concept and execution of that.

Ending

The ending was very satisficing, and it closed the story for me. There weren’t any bits that weren’t answered for me. And you can even pick your own epilogue, so you can decide how the story will end, and I enjoyed that as well. Of course I read all three of them and I preferred Epilogue 1 the most.

Overall

It took me pretty long to finish reading it, longer than I intended and it makes me feel bad about it, because it is a great story. I wouldn’t have picked it up myself and I really enjoyed it even though it was out of my comfort zone. But I got the novel in eBook form and my concertation when it comes to eBooks is different and lower than when I am reading a physical copy, so that is why it took me longer.

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoyed something different and in the Adult Contemporary direction. It really is an amazing read and I learned that you are constantly changing through your life and learning things about yourself you didn’t know before, and those things will only help you develop yourself more and become a stronger person.

Overall rating: 4 stars

Thank you to the author for giving me an eBook copy of her novel, I really appreciate it! Everything stated in this review is my own opinion on this novel.

One thought on “Jessica Lost Her Wobble by J. Schlenker *Spoiler Free* Review

Leave a Reply

