Genres

Young Adult, Contemporary, Fiction and Romance

Goodreads summary

“Madeline Whittier is allergic to the outside world. So allergic, in fact, that she has never left the house in all of her seventeen years. But when Olly moves in next door, and wants to talk to Maddie, tiny holes start to appear in the protective bubble her mother has built around her. Olly writes his IM address on a piece of paper, shows it at her window, and suddenly, a door opens. But does Maddie dare to step outside her comfort zone?

Everything, Everything is about the thrill and heartbreak that happens when we break out of our shell to do crazy, sometimes death-defying things for love.”

Characters

Madeline: She is in my eyes a very responsible character, she knows what she can and can’t do. But that the things she can’t do make sure that she can’t be a real teenager. The only person she sees on a day are her mother and her nurse, Carla. Throughout the story Madeline wants to experience everything, not just read about them in books and through that she wants to find out who Madeline really is.

Olly: He has a lot going on in his life. His family situation is horrible and in my opinion he sort finds his escape from that in Madeline. He is caring and loving, he wants to help Madeline as well as he can and in the story it is shown that he really cares for her.

Writing

There were different kind of media to tell the story. There were mails and drawings and more to tell the story. And because that was used in this book, it was fast to read and I flew threw it. I did miss the description of some things, the way Madeline was experiencing things. I was reading ACOTAR at the same time and there is so much more detailed descriptions in their as in Everything, Everything. And I missed that aspect.

Ending

In the back of my mind I sort of knew what the ending might be, but I was still surprised when it happened. One part I didn’t see coming and the last chapter I did see coming. It didn’t play with my emotions as much as I thought it would.

Overall

Overall I really enjoyed this quick read and the different media that was used to tell the story. I really liked the relationship Madeline had with her nurse, Carla and the way they interacted with each other. I like the way Madeline started to find out who she really was and what she really wanted in life. The romance was cute and I enjoyed Olly’s character. Though I would have wanted him to protect Madeline a bit more.

Overall rating: 4 stars

Did you read Everything, Everything and what was your opinion on this book?

5 thoughts on “Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon *Spoiler Free* Review

Leave a Reply

