Genres

Middle grade/young adult, fantasy, mythology

 

Goodreads blurb

“The heroic son of Poseidon makes an action-packed comeback in the second must-read installment of Rick Riordan’s amazing young readers series. Starring Percy Jackson, a “half blood” whose mother is human and whose father is the God of the Sea, Riordan’s series combines cliffhanger adventure and Greek mythology lessons that results in true page-turners that get better with each installment. In this episode, The Sea of Monsters, Percy sets out to retrieve the Golden Fleece before his summer camp is destroyed, surpassing the first book’s drama and setting the stage for more thrills to come.”

 

Characters

Percy: Well as I said in my Lighting Thief review, I love Percy. I love his comeback and his sense of humor. What I also really love is that he will do anything for his friends, what is shown in this book. It also shows that he is capable of stepping other ones shoes and to see how they might feel about a situation.

Annabeth: Annabeth is still a very smart girl, but in this book she lets things that have happened in the past cloud her judgement when it comes to Tyson. I understands why she does it and in my opinion this also gives some more depth to her character.

Tyson: Tyson is a very naïve character, which makes him pretty loveable. He really only sees the good in others and is positive most of the time. Other than that he really wants to help Percy and does the things Percy asks from him the best he can.

 

Writing

The writing is as great and funny as the Lighting Thief was. Percy is a wonderful narrator, he makes me laugh out loud. And as I had said in my Lighting Thief review I love the use of the Greek mythology in the Percy Jackson series, I always have had interest in Greek mythology. And through these books you learn about it.

 

Ending

The book ended in a cliffhanger, I have read the books before in Dutch, and so I knew what was coming. But the first time reading them I didn’t. The whole ending so set up that you absolutely don’t see it coming if you read the book for the first time. And the cliffhanger at the end of the book creates an opening for continuation that the next book can use.

 

Overall

I really enjoyed reading this book as well as the Lighting Thief. This book was shorter and I flew through it and I was more excited to read this book than I was with the Lighting Thief, maybe because I knew what would happen in the end, so I had something to look forward to. And overall I remember in big lines what happened in the books, but for the most part it had all faded away, so it was like I was reading this book for the first time again, since I nearly remember nothing of this book except the ending.

Overall rating: 4 stars

Have you read this book yet? What was your opinion on it?

Leave a Reply

