Hello Readers!

October has been a busy reading month for me and I got a lot of reading done, but most is for the Hogwarts House Cup read-a-thon, and that will be a separate Wrap Up next week. And it is almost November! November is a very busy month for me. Next to internship which asks a lot energy and time, I am participating in NaNoWriMo for the first time this year. And I will be going to London for four days. So that mean that I won’t have that much time to read this month. And I have decided to stop re-reading the Harry Potter books, not because I don’t like them obviously, but because there are so many book I still want to read. I think that the next time I will be re-reading Harry Potter is with the illustrated editions, so I can read one every year, I am looking forward to that.

 

First my Wrap Up for October

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling

This was a re-read and I really liked it, like I love all the Harry Potter. It took me a bit longer to get through it that I wanted to but I did finish it in the end and with finishing it I earned some points for Ravenclaw, so not too bad.

 

Insurgent by Veronice Roth (I nearly forget this one)

I have written a spoiler free review about this book, I didn’t really like it that much and about that I will talk about more in my review. I have still hope that maybe Allegiant will be better than Insurgent, I really hope so.

 

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling

I have been reading this book for every day of the Hogwarts House Cup read-a-thon and I really like re-reading books like that, just one or two chapters a day. So I think will be doing that for the books that I will be re-reading for now on. I will be finishing this book on Sunday in London at the last day of the Hogwarts House Cup Read-a-thon.

 

My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton & Jodi Meadows

I really, really, really love this book. It was amazing and it has been a while since I enjoyed a book this much and actually liked all the main characters and I was rooting for them out loud. I would have never pick this book up if it wasn’t for the book club Ready, Set, READ! Because the cover just didn’t speak to me. I personally think that the cover doesn’t do justice to the story, because it is such an amazing, funny and addictive book. I have written a review about this book.

 

I haven’t finished Carrie and Northanger Abbey yet, but I do plan to finish them this week.

 

And these are the books I am planning on reading in November.

Emma by Jane Austen

This is the November pick for the Austentatious Book Club which is created by Zoë from readbyzoe. And I am also buddy reading this book together with Lia and Tanya, so that would be the first time for me as well. I am really looking forward to the buddy read and what kind of new experience that would bring.

 

Percy Jackson and the Sea of Monsters by Rick Riordan

I have started to re-read the Percy Jackson series last month. The first time I read them, they were the Dutch versions of the books and that was years ago, so it is almost like I am reading them for the first time again. I love Percy, he is such a great and funny character. And I will be taking this book with me to London so that I have something to read.

 

Hundred Hours of Night by Anna Woltz (in Dutch)

This will be the Dutch book I will be reading this month, like I have said before I have a lot of Dutch books in need to read. So this book I pretty short, so I will be able to finish it faster.

 

Jessica Lost Her Wobble by J. Schlenker

I have received the eBook from the author of this book for review. I am so excited for this book, because this is the first time someone has asked me to do this. I have this eBook on my phone, so I will be reading this when I am using the public transport when I go to my internship and when I will be in London.

 

What We Saw by Aaron Hartzler

This is this month book for the Ready, Set, READ! Book club I’m in, I attended to their live show yesterday and that was an amazing experience, it was the first live show I have attended to and it really was a lot of fun. I don’t really know what this book is about, but I heard that it might be a sad and intense read, and it is not too long so that is a perfect book for November.

 

If I have miraculously read all these books for the end of the month and I still have some time over these are the books I will be reading then:

  • Frenched by Melanie Harlow
  • The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J. Maas
  • Percy Jackson and the Titan’s Curse by Rick Riordan
  • Allegiant by Veronica Roth

 

What was your favorite read of October and what will you be reading in November?

– Debbie –

8 thoughts on “October 2016 Wrap Up & November 2016 TBR

  1. Last month I made the mistake of planning to read 11 books in Oct. Having realized the mistake and kicked by it in the rear, subsequently writing a blog post about it, this month I have proudly elected TO READ WHATEVER I PLEASE AT ANY PACE 😀 best decision ever, eh?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

