percy-jackson-1

Goodreads blurb

“Percy Jackson is a good kid, but he can’t seem to focus on his schoolwork or control his temper. And lately, being away at boarding school is only getting worse—Percy could have sworn his pre-algebra teacher turned into a monster and tried to kill him. When Percy’s mom finds out, she knows it’s time that he knew the truth about where he came from, and that he go to the one place he’ll be safe. She sends Percy to Camp Half Blood, a summer camp for demigods (on Long Island), where he learns that the father he never knew is Poseidon, God of the Sea. Soon a mystery unfolds and together with his friends—one a satyr and the other the demigod daughter of Athena—Percy sets out on a quest across the United States to reach the gates of the Underworld (located in a recording studio in Hollywood) and prevent a catastrophic war between the gods.”

Characters

Percy: Percy is a very funny guy, he really makes me laugh out loud some times and he has great and sassy comebacks sometimes. He is basically a troubled teenager whose life sucks. He moves from school to school, because bad stuff keeps happening to him, he has a father he has never met before and he has an awful person as a stepfather. Percy has a lovely mother and would do anything in his power to make her happy.

Grover: To be honest, I liked Grover more in the movie. In the book he isn’t daring at all, which isn’t bad. But it is his job to make sure that Percy is safe all the time. He does have a big dream and he is willing to go on any quest to make sure that he can make his dream come true. He is very caring towards animals and nature, which I really like. He is more apprehensive in the whole situation, which (again) isn’t a bad thing, he might think of things the other two didn’t think about.

Annabeth: Annabeth is a very smart girl and she uses that whenever it is needed. She always comes up with the plans to make sure that the mission they are having at that moment goes as planned. In the beginning she needed some time to warm up to Percy, mostly because their godly parents don’t get along very well.

Writing

I loved the writing of this book. I like the way that Greek mythology is used in the story, I have always had an interest in the Greek mythology and the art from this time. I like the way it is fused with modern society, and it also some issues in modern society are mentioned, not much but they are.

Ending

For me the plot twist at the end is really a plot twist, even though I have already read the series in Dutch. Throughout the book there aren’t any signs towards the plot twist, but to be honest I haven’t searched for them. I really enjoyed the ending.

Overall

Maybe it is because this is a re-read for me, but in a different language, but I wasn’t that excited to continue with the next chapter as I was with another book I was reading. I did really enjoy it, don’t get me wrong, but I could easily put it down for a few days and then continue. I think it is a great first book for a series, there are still some questions unanswered, which gives an opening for the rest of the series.

Overall rating: 4/5 stars

8 thoughts on “The Lighting Thief (Percy Jackson #1) by Rick Riordan *Spoiler Free* Review

Leave a Reply

