my-lady-jane

Goodreads blurb

“Edward (long live the king) is the King of England. He’s also dying, which is inconvenient, as he’s only sixteen and he’d much rather be planning for his first kiss than considering who will inherit his crown…

Jane (reads too many books) is Edward’s cousin, and far more interested in books than romance. Unfortunately for Jane, Edward has arranged to marry her off to secure the line of succession. And there’s something a little odd about her intended…

Gifford (call him G) is a horse. That is, he’s an Eðian (eth-y-un, for the uninitiated). Every day at dawn he becomes a noble chestnut steed—but then he wakes at dusk with a mouthful of hay. It’s all very undignified.

The plot thickens as Edward, Jane, and G are drawn into a dangerous conspiracy. With the fate of the kingdom at stake, our heroes will have to engage in some conspiring of their own. But can they pull off their plan before it’s off with their heads?”

Characters

Before I start talking about these characters individually, I would like to say that I have such a strong feeling for these characters they are amazing.

Jane: Jane is known to be constantly in books with her face, she has fierce red hair and a fierce character. She and Edward are very close friends and when she finds out that he is dying and that that is the reason he has arranged a marriage for her, she agrees for his sake. I love the way she uses the knowledge she has gained from reading books in real life situations, and the moment she comes into a situation she has no knowledge of the first thing she does is read a book or two about it. She has a very strong personality and she isn’t afraid to give her opinion, even though she is a ‘woman’.

Gifford: I personally had to warm up to G before I started to like his character, but the moment I was warm up, man I really enjoyed his character. G is very poetic sometimes about the things he says and thinks. He is actually very insecure about himself and about him being an Edian.

Edward: I love Edward! He is so funny and sometimes also sassy in the way he says things. Most of the time he has a smartass comeback to say or he makes a joke to lighten up the mood. In the beginning of the book he is a really pampered boy, he doesn’t know how to take care of himself because he always has people to do that for him. And the moment he finds out that he is dying, he comes to the conclusion that he hasn’t done that much in his life what he really wanted to do.

All the characters really develop throughout the story, they come into situations they had never been before and they learn things about themselves as well.

Writing

I really enjoyed the writing at the beginning we get a bit explanation from the ‘narrators’ what the situation and time period is and what their plan was with this time period. The whole book was split up into two parts, and during part two there were parts that the narrators interrupted the story to say something, and I didn’t like that very much. I wasn’t really bothered with it, but I did bring me out of the story so that I had to look back to see where we were in the story.

Ending

I loved the ending. Everything wrapped up nicely and it was a clear ending. There weren’t any questions which were left unanswered for me.

Overall

I really, really, really enjoyed this book! I love it! I would recommend it to others! To be honest it has been a while that is was that excited to continue reading a book, that I would have to put it down because I know I would continue until it is done, even though that would be up till late at night. It has also been a while since I actually was rooting for people to become a couple or to express their love for the other.

Overall rating: 4.5/5 stars

4 thoughts on “My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton & Jodi Meadows *Spoiler Free* Review

    1. Thank you! I am glad that you are considering this book. I personally first didn’t feel like reading the book because of the cover, but I needed for the book club I’m in. And I am so glad I did read it 🤓

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

