Hello Readers!

Today it is time for another Top 5 Wednesday, this Goodreads group is originally created by Lainey from GingerReadsLainey and is now hosted by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes.

This week’s topic is Favorite Spooky setting, with Halloween coming soon this is a great topic to discuss. I have to admit that I haven’t read that many spooky settings, so I will put some movies in here if I can’t come to 5 books.

 

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

The Labyrinth as the Third Task scares me and I think it is very well executed in the movies. The dark atmosphere and the tasks within the tasks make it a very scary place, since you can go left when you had to go right to stay safe.

 

Frozen Charlotte by Alex Bell

I don’t quit remember this setting of the book anymore. But I do know that the house in my head gave off a spooky atmosphere. But might also be because I knew it was a horror book, so I might have made the setting spooky in my head while it isn’t meant to be in the book.

 

The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas

It is probably because I know what is going on in this book and in what year it takes place. But as far as I can remember it is described as a grey setting and it lays next to concentration camp. So in my opinion that is spooky/creepy.

 

And now on to the movies because I could think of more books with a spooky setting.

 

Mirrors (2008)

I recently watched this movie and the building in which the movie takes places screams spooky. There are mirrors everywhere and with the idea behind the movie, a lot of mirrors in one building isn’t the best idea.

 

The Woman In Black (2012)

With this movie it is basically the same. The house where it takes places is very spooky and the moment the main character sets foot in the house, you can tell that it is no good to be in that house. I find the main characters in this kind of movies either really stupid and dumb, or they are very brave.

 

So as you can tell, I haven’t read that many books with a spooky setting and I do like those kind of books. So recommendations are welcome! What is your favorite spooky setting in a book?

– Debbie –

4 thoughts on “T5W Favorite Spooky Setting

Leave a Reply

