Pages: 525

Genre: Young Adult, Dystopia

Publishing year: 2012

Format: Paperback

Source: Bought

Score: 3.5 stars

Goodreads summary:

“One choice can transform you – or it can destroy you.
Tris Prior’s initiation day should have been marked by celebration: instead it ended with unspeakable horrors.
Now unrest surges in the factions around her as conflict between their ideologies grows.

In times of war sides must be chosen and secrets will emerge. Tris has already paid a terrible price for survival and is wracked by haunting guilt. But radical new discoveries and shifting relationships mean that she must fully embrace her Divergence – even though she stands to lose everything.”

 

Characters:

Tris: I didn’t like Tris her character in this book. She wasn’t the same as she was in Divergent, it was like she was a whole new character to me. And I did not like it. I get it that you change and the way you think about everything and life changes after what she saw and what had happened to her in Divergent, but I didn’t like the fact that it went on and on, and that she didn’t become the old Tris anymore through the biggest part of the book. She did become like her old self in the last 40 pages and I really liked that part of the book.

Four: Four is not my favorite male character. He had parts that I like about his and he had parts I disliked about his. Most of all I’m pretty indifferent about him.

I just have to mention my favorite male character even though he isn’t mentioned that much in the books. I love Celeb, I don’t precisely know why, but I knew that I was the moment I saw his cutest side (at least I find it to be his cutest side). The moment he starts asking questions in a sort like child wonder, the moment he gets excited with wonder, I loved that. And I don’t like what has happened to his character in this book. I just had to get it off my chest without spoiling anything.

 

Writing

I have seen better writing, but I’m not saying it is bad. I do enjoy Veronica Roth’s writing. I think she does a great job at creating a whole new world and she does a great job at fast paced scenes in my opinion.

I personally don’t like the character development Tris is going through, but that is also my opinion. I do love that the friendship is still a big part of this story, but the romance also has become a big part of the story.

Now I don’t like the romance in this story, as much as I loved it in Divergent I don’t like it in Insurgent. First of all the romance doesn’t feel real to me. I don’t know how to subscribe it. But I feel like Tris and Four aren’t understanding each other, they are not listening to the other and they just don’t have the right chemistry in my opinion.

I did like the way the plot is going (aside from the romance), I really do and I’m looking forward to see how that will turn out in Allegiant.

 

Ending

At the end, you get a part where Four and Tris are separated. That was when I enjoyed the book the most and that is also where I saw the old Tris coming through. There is a fast paced action going on and I liked it. it was written well and I got a very clear picture of what was going on right then.

 

Overall

Overall I enjoyed the book, but much less than I enjoyed Divergent. I made my eyes roll at the romance that was happening and I loved the way that the dystopia world was shown and build. I did point out a lot of things I didn’t like, but that doesn’t mean that I hate this book. I liked this book and I will be continuing this series, I’m actually excited for Allegiant.

 

So this was my review. I do want to say that I’m just not a fan of a lot of romance in books which main plot isn’t about romance. I like a bit, just not as much as in this book, and that bugged me a bit.

Have you read Insurgent? And what were your thoughts on it? Do you agree or disagree with me?

– Debbie –

8 thoughts on “Insurgent by Veronica Roth *Spoiler Free* Review

  1. It has been a long time since I read this book, but I do recall that I was also not really fond of Four, and Tris was okay. I did really like Caleb (most of the time). But my opinions probably have changed because of the movies, so I’m not sure what I actually think of the book itself.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

