Hello readers!

I have seen a lot of BookTubers doing this. And I thought to myself ‘I will be doing this when I get 10 followers, so they will get to know me better’ and that happened more than a week ago… I’m a bit late, sorry.

But I want to say: Thank you all for following me and most of all talking to me and with me about books! I’m really enjoying my time here on WordPress and reading again and discussing books. It has been a wonderful first month here! So thank you for that.

So here are 25 Bookish Facts about me.

  1. If I’m lucky I can read up to 50 pages in an hour. I don’t read fast, I read a bit faster than speaking pace.
  2. I read 1 a 2 books a week. Most of the time it is 1 book. But I can read multiple books at the same time.
  3. I can put down a book for half year and start where I was and still know what happened. This is not something I’m proud of, this means it has happened before or multiple times.
  4. I read hardcover books without the dust jacket, because I’m afraid that I will damage it and that is also the way I lend my books.
  5. I love both paperbacks and hardcovers, I don’t prefer one over the other.
  6. But I normally do not lend out my books, because I have been traumatized by lending out a book I loved at that moment. It was “Echte Mannen Eten Geen Kaas”, and I adored this book back then, so one of my friends asked if she could read it, so I said yes. Biggest mistake ever! A few days later she told me that she had finished the book but had lend it out to someone else, without asking me. And when I got my book back, it was so damaged and there was black pen or whatever over the pages. I really wasn’t happy with that, as you can tell I still get angry over that situation.
  7. When I lend out a book to someone I will be asking them, when they will be done and to get the reading done. Right now I have lend out one of my books to my sister, but she isn’t reading it, and now it is catch dust on her/our bookshelf. We share a room so I see it all happen, I remind her that she needs to read a lot.
  8. I need silence to read a book, so I can fully concentrate myself on the story and to dive into the world. Sometime I can handle background noises.
  9. I also am a very easily distracted person, so when I’m reading this happens as well. That is why I put my phone on still while I read and why I stay far, far away from my laptop. Even getting something to drink or to eat is dangerous because I will get distracted with the TV that is on or my family starts talking to me.
  10. I don’t eat or drink during reading, I have to take a break so I can eat or drink. Most of the time I have to remember myself that I need to drink something.
  11. I judge a book by its cover and the synopsis.
  12. I make a bookmark out of everything that is flat and nearby (receipts, random paper, those thick paper cards on new bought stuffed animals, etc.)
  13. Since I started college, I haven’t been going to the library anymore. This is because I don’t have the time, they don’t have the books that I want to read and when you are 18 years old (an adult) you have to pay for the books you take home with you.
  14. If you let me I can spend multiple hours in a bookstore, but of course, I have to buy a book as well.
  15. Whenever I go shopping in a city I don’t often come (like Rotterdam and Amsterdam), I look up on internet which bookstores are nearby the shopping part and then I have to go and visit them as well (and buy some books).
  16. Whenever a books original language is English, I would buy the book in its original language instead of buying the translated Dutch version.
  17. As a child (up to 13 years old I think), whenever I woke up in the middle of the night because of a nightmare, I would read children books in order to calm myself down, so I would be able to sleep again.
  18. While I am reading a book I always imagine myself to be in the book as well, I might be the main character or I just make a character of my own, to be me in the book.
  19. I am a proud Slytherclaw. When I was in secondary school and Pottermore was first introduced I had done the sorting test and I was a Slytherin. Now I’m in college and Pottermore has changed I had to sort myself again and so I was sorted into Ravenclaw. I’m happy with both so I am a Slytherclaw.
  20. I did get very late on the Harry Potter train, the fifth movie was coming out, and it looked really interesting. So my family and I bought the previous four films and watch that. By that Voldemort in the first movie gave me nightmares. And after watching the movies, I started reading the books.
  21. I read faster in a physical book than I do in an e-reader.
  22. I always carry a book with me, 9/10 times I won’t read when I’m outdoors. But you never know, I read in the car when I know we will make a long car trip (to the sea or Amsterdam or Rotterdam, etc.).
  23. If you didn’t know it by now (I think I mentioned some of these in my blogs), but I read and really enjoy manga and by that anime as well. I will be mentioning manga in my blog, because they are a big part of my reading experience. But thereby I do not read graphic novels.
  24. Before I start reading a book I check the amount of pages I will be reading for that book and how many chapters they are, so I can count it down in my head while I’m reading.
  25. I would like to publish a book one day and in order to become a good writer I have started writing on Wattpad. I started writing my own book on Wattpad in January this year, but I haven’t got far. I got four chapters in and then I re-read the chapters, and found to be horrible so I started re-writing, and now I have the first two chapters done. So right now, I’m in the ‘My story sucks’ slump, so yeah and school + internship made me almost completely stop writing because I don’t have the time. Earlier today I had put my story On Hold. I did this because I don’t have the time and I couldn’t live up to my own expectations while writing a book online. I will continue writing my book, but I will start updating it again when I feel I can live up to my expectations again or if my book’s first draft is done.

So these are some bookish facts about me. Do we have some things in common? And what are some bookish facts about you?

– Debbie –

19 thoughts on “25 Bookish Facts About Me

  1. My Hogwarts house is Huffleclaw, I think, or maybe Gryffinclaw. At least partly Ravenclaw and a mix of Hufflepuff and Gryffindor in it.
    I was also really late with reading and watching Harry Potter, I only started reading the books a few years ago.
    I don’t really mind borrowing my books to friends, but every time I say they can borrow a book, the borrowing actually never happens. So I think the only times I borrowed a book to someone was to my sister and she doesn’t damage my books 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think it is fair as well. The synopsis should grab your attention and if it doesn’t than it isn’t a book for you (unless I hear only great things about it, than I might reconsider my decision). And thank you, I think I will continue having fun doing this, I’m meeting so many great people here! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes! I agree 100% there are just too many wonderful books out there to be wasting time on ones that don’t appeal to me. But you’re right though unless everyone is giving it great reviews I may change my mind too!
        Also for someone just starting out I will say that chatting with people is the best thing you can do! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I love chatting with people. And this might be on my blog or on theirs. We all have something in common, we are passionate about something and we want to talk about it with others, this might be reading or writing etc.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m not a very quick reader either, but I can read a lot of books at once (right now I’m reading 6 I think… yeah…). I can also put down a book and then months later I could start reading it again and know exactly what happened. I have a really hard time reading when somebody is watching TV or listening to music, or even if I hear my dogs walking around the house. It can get really frustrating sometimes, making me wish I could just curl up in my own personal bubble with no noise or anything but me and a book. I once used my phone as a bookmark cause that was the nearest thing. My phone is also my worst enemy when I am reading, which is why I try and keep it far away because once I get comfy with my book, I know I won’t want to get up in order to get on it. Years ago I got sorted into Gryffindor on Pottermore (I have no idea how that happened, I am not brave or courageous at all), and recently I got sorted into Slytherin, but every quiz online I take I get Ravenclaw… I don’t read manga and I have only seen like two episodes of Death Note (cause my cousin wanted me to watch it lol). It was alright but their voices really annoyed me. I have a Wattpad as well, but I just write fanfiction on it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I actually have two Wattpad accounts, one to write my own stories on and one for fanfiction. And right now I am getting distracted by WordPress from my reading 😛 Electronic devices are the enemies of my reading time.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Maybe but I don’t mind 🙂 My fanfictions are about anime and a game, and that accounts name is KyoukoNeko. And my other account is DebbieVTH. But I have stopped updating my stories for a while because I couldn’t live up to the expectations I was putting on myself. I am planning on updating again, but I don’t know when. So if you can wait, you are free to read my stories 🙂 (Even though they are not that great in my opinion :P)

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I followed your regular account (my name is Hedwigeomfndm) and added your book to my to-read list. It may take me a while to get to reading it cause I have loads of books and fanfics on my to-read pile but by then maybe there will be more chapters:) Also, we are all our worst critic. I think my writing is horrendous but then somebody comes up and says that its great. I think it’s a curse placed upon writers, and we’re always the hardest on ourselves, identifying every little mistake no matter how small.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Yes that is true. I have said to myself that I would finish my books first draft and than I will start editing it, otherwise I will never get past chapter one. And I will be checking out you book(s) when my life had calmed down a bit 😀

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

