Hello readers!

It’s Wednesday! So today there will be another Top 5 Wednesday. This Goodreads group is originally created by Lainey from GingerReadsLainey and is now hosted by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes.

And this week the topic is books that took you the longest to finish, so books that stayed on your ‘currently reading’ shelf for ages. So let’s get started!

 

ZusjeSister by Rosamund Lupton

I mention this book a lot in my Top 5’s and I didn’t even enjoy it that much… But this book had been on my currently reading shelf for about 2 year, I guess, before I realized that I really needed to finish that book. I was still interested in who did it, but I didn’t get through the book that easily because it was dragging on.

 

Divergent 1Divergent by Veronica Roth

This book had been on my currently reading shelf for over a year. I just stopped reading half way through the book and I couldn’t say that I wasn’t interested in the book at all, I really enjoyed Divergent. But this was also in the time I told myself not to read because I needed to get college stuff done.

 

Vampire KissesVampire kisses by Ellen Schreiber

I didn’t like this book, I really didn’t. But because I had promised my sister that I would read one of her favorite books, I had to finish it. Now that I think about it, I don’t think I ever DNFed a book (except for the library books I had to bring back and didn’t get to finish), but if I hadn’t promised my sister that I would finish this book, this would have been the first one. It just wasn’t a book for me.

 

vampire-academy-1Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

This book has been on my currently reading shelf between a half year and a year. If I think back on it, I think it was because of college (surprise), but also that I had seen the movie before I read the book and there wasn’t new to me in the book. So I think that was the reason.

 

sword-art-onlineSword Art Online by Reki Kawahara

It took me weeks if not months to finish this manga and normally I finish a manga in one or two sittings. So that says a lot. I really liked the beginning, the concept is really cool but it wasn’t used well in my opinion. And I really didn’t like what happened to Asuna’s character. I won’t go into dept about it, because spoilers!, but I didn’t like it.

 

5 thoughts on “T5W: Books That Took You The Longest To Finish

  1. I read the Sword Art Online book (not the manga version) once because my brother recommended it to me and I really didn’t like how the next book continued with another game in which they would be stuck or something, so I didn’t want to continue with the series. Now I could pretend that the ending of the first book was the final ending, and everything was okay.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I actually really liked the first Divergent book (and I read it pretty quickly), but I hated Insurgent and couldn’t even get halfway through Allegiant. Some books that took me forever to read were the first two game of thrones books (they’re long so there’s logic behind it), the fourth harry potter book (i was young and it was so huge for me at the time), and more I can’t think of.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. For me, it just went downhill since Divergent ended. Most people just didn’t like the way Allegiant ended, or the plot, but I just didn’t like the writing anymore and nothing made sense anymore (and I was just bored out of my mind).

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

