Hello readers!

It is again Wednesday, so another top 5 Wednesday is happening! This Goodreads group is originally created by Lainey from GingerReadsLainey and is now hosted by Sam from Thoughts on Tomes. And this week’s topic is the gateway books to your favorite genre, so the books you would recommend to other people who are trying out this genre.

The genre I have chosen for this week’s Top 5 is manga. Because I just recently got back into reading, I haven’t read that much books and there aren’t books I could list in this Top 5 for my favorite genre, mostly because I don’t know what my favorite genre is. So I’m going for manga! These are in no particular order.

 

attack-on-titanShingeki no Kyojin/Attack on Titan by Hajime Isayama

If you are new to the anime/manga community you will find out about Attack on Titan sooner or later. This is one of the manga I read in one or two days and there were back then about 18 volumes out. Attack on Titan is an ongoing manga, but I’m keeping up with it online.

Basically in the story humanity has found an enemy which aren’t themselves, they are the titans. To protect themselves from the titans they have built walls around there houses to keep the titans away from the human society. But one day everything changes when the titans destroy one of the three walls…

In the story we follow Eren Jaeger, he wants to go outside the walls and to destroy all the titans. We will follow him on his journey to freedom and the obstacles he will face.

 

ouran-high-school-host-clubOuran High School Host Club by Bisco Hatori

I personally really like Ouran High School Host Club. This isn’t your typical shoujo, reverse harem manga. Haruhi actually has her own personally, her own flaws and good personality trades. She is smart, is always used to do thing on her own and to take care of herself, which is a good point but also a flaw because he finds it hard to accept help from her friends. The male characters aren’t flat, they have multiple layers to their personality and their own struggles to deal with.

I can’t express how much I love these characters, I’m reading the manga for the first time now, I have watched the anime several times, and I just don’t get bored with it.

This manga series is completed and has 18 volumes.

 

orangeOrange by Ichigo Takano

This is another school life manga. You follow 6 friends, the main character is Naho. She one day receives a letter from her future self with instructions to prevent the regrets she has from her past years. I’m not going to say much more about this one, because it is very easy to spoil pieces of the manga. But I really enjoyed this one, it made me cry (good thing I was alone down stair at 0.00 am). I am currently watching the anime series of this manga and it is beautifully made, I’m not that far though.This manga is completed and has 5 volumes.

 

my-hero-academiaBoku no Hero Academia/My Hero Academia by Kohei Horikoshi

This story is set in the future, that is how I read it, and in this future it is normal to have a super power. This can be a small thing, like moving small objects or you can have super strength. These super powers are called Quirks. In this story we follow Izuku, who is one of the 20% of the population who has no quirk. All his life he has looked up to the heroes and made notes for the moment he would become a hero himself.

I first watched the anime for this series before I started the manga, but at that moment the anime was ongoing and every week there would be a new episode. But after watching episode 12 and I had to wait for episode 13 to come out a week later, I couldn’t wait any longer. So I started reading the manga. In two or three days I completed reading the 100 chapters that were released at that date, and since then I’m keeping up with it.

 

your-lie-in-aprilYour Lie In April by Naoshi Arakawa

I’m seeing a connection between all the manga I’m choosing for this list, they all made me feel every strong emotions. And Your Lie In April is no exception, not at all. I watched this series as an anime first and I’m reading it as a manga right now. This story follows Kosei, a fourteen year old boy who has lost his mother and since her death he hasn’t played piano. One day he will meet Kaori, who is a violist and “forces” Kosei to play the piano again. Warning this story will break you.This manga is completed and has 11 volumes.

 

This is my list for Top 5 Wednesday. If you have a Top 5, what is your genre? Have you read manga? So yes, with would you recommend? So no, would you consider it?

– Debbie –

Leave a Reply

