Persuasion1

Pages: 207

Genre: Classic, Fiction

Publishing year: 1818

Format: Paperback

Source: Bought

Score: 4.5 stars

Goodreads summary

“’All the privilege I claim for my own sex…is that of loving longest, when existence or when hope is gone.’ Anne Elliot’s heartfelt words strike the keynote of Jane Austen’s last completed novel. It features a heroine older and wiser than her predecessors in earlier books, and its tone is more intimate and sober as Jane Austen unfolds a simple love-story. She described her heroine in a letter as ‘almost too good for me’: Anne Elliot’s goodness is not of the cloying kind, but an unsentimental quality that, combined with stoicism and integrity, enables her to find happiness in love after seven years when it seemed she had for ever put an end to such a prospect.”

 

Characters

Our main character is Anne Elliot. I find her to be a very relatable character, though I do feel sorry for her. Where Elizabeth, from Pride and Prejudice, and more family member who were more insufferable, Anne didn’t have that family around her. Her father and her older sister, Elizabeth are such a horrible, proud and prejudiced people. I’m glad that they weren’t that much in the book. Anne herself seem to me like a girl, in the beginning, who would please the people she loves. And as you keep following her through the book, she dares to stand up for her opinions to them. That is how I interpret her character.

 

Writing

I think because I had already read Pride and Prejudice, that I didn’t have that much trouble with the writing for this book. Though I still need my full concentration for reading and listening to this book, I didn’t have that much trouble getting into the story. It even seems to me that this book was easier to read.

The story had a nice flow to it and it didn’t get boring, the whole story takes place in 200 pages, so it does need to go faster pace to tell the whole story. I didn’t get bored while reading, I didn’t had to push myself to continue and I was constantly wondering what would happen.

 

Ending

I do have some issues with the ending, to me it was rushed. It was because I knew that there were only a couple of pages left to finish of the story, but the ending didn’t feel that satisfying for me as the ending of Pride and Prejudice. And because the ending is so rushed, for my feeling, I didn’t get to see the character development from a character I wanted to see so badly. That is the only negative thing I have about this book, and not really negative, but I had expected more from it after reading Pride and Prejudice.

 

Overall

I really enjoyed this book and I flew through it. And to make the experience better, I used an audio book. At first I had to experiment with the speed I was playing it at. And I also had to get used to the fact that the story was read to me.

Jane Austen has something to her writing that makes me feel very strong emotions for the characters in her books. This might be love or something in the direction of disgust and a bit of hatred.

 

Have you read Persuasion? What was your opinion on this book and the ending?

– Debbie –

3 thoughts on “Persuasion by Jane Austen *Spoiler Free* Review

  1. I still need to read about 140 pages but I think I can manage to finish it by the end of the week. I hope. But I am also reading other books at the same time but it might be next week..

    Like

Leave a Reply

