This Is Where It Ends

Pages: 285

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary

Publication year: 2016

Format: Hardcover

Source: Bought

Score: 5 stars

 

Goodreads summary

“10:00 a.m. The principal of Opportunity High School finishes her speech, welcoming the entire student body to a new semester and encouraging them to excel and achieve.

10:02 a.m. The students get up to leave the auditorium for their next class.

10:03 a.m. The auditorium doors won’t open.

10:05 a.m. Someone starts shooting.

Told from four different perspectives over the span of fifty-four harrowing minutes, terror reigns as one student’s calculated revenge turns into the ultimate game of survival.”

 

Characters

This story is told from four perspective, as the story progresses you get to see how it unfolds from their point of view and what they go through, physically and mentally.

Claire is the first one to be introduced to us. She is outside training with her team when everything happens, you get to see what goes through her mind the moment she hears shooting, how she handles the situation and what her part would be in this whole situation. She is very strong and I really felt for her.

Then we are introduced to Autumn, she comes over, in my opinion, as a girl who is depressed but does everything to make herself feel happy even if that goes against her father’s wish. During the whole event I found her to be very brave and caring, and I understood her actions.

After that we are in the point of view of Sylv (Sylvia), she is Autumn’s best friend and girlfriend, she has a very strong feelings when it comes to her family, that is her everything from how I got it. But during the shooting she is very scared, and I understand that. But still her brother’s and her girlfriend’s well-being is constantly on her mind.

And at last we meet Tomas, he is together with his best friend in the office of the school’s principal. He is Sylvia’s twin brother and is for her sake in the office. So he isn’t there when the shooting starts. I really liked his character, his love for his twin sister really grabbed me.

 

Writing

The chapter overall were short and in a chapter all four point of view were shown. This made the story very quick paced for me, it was a fast read and I really sucked me in. The whole story kept me on the edge of my seat and I only stopped reading to drink something or to eat, because I had to. Through the story there was a lot of attention for the emotions of the main characters and how their thoughts were going on and on. This showed the connection they had with each other and how they were copying with the situation.

There are also flashbacks in the story and these flashbacks show you the relationships that have formed over the time, for me, this made me feel more connected to the characters and it also explains some feelings they have towards others.

 

Ending

What is there to say about the ending? All I can say is that it left me as an emotional, sobbing mess. Now, I am a very emotional person, so I cry very easy. But the last 1/3 of the book I was a mess, and I still feel very emotional (I’m writing this right after finishing the book).

Now I did have an issue with a part of the ending. There was something Sylvia did, that didn’t felt right to me. For obvious reasons I can’t tell you what she did but I didn’t agree with it.

 

Overall

I give the book a 5 star rating. I rate a book on the fact that I enjoyed a book, or I had to continue reading it, or it left me speechless/emotional. And this book left me speechless/emotional and I had to continue reading this. I had to read this book, because it had been on my mind ever since I had seen it in the bookstore and ever since I had read the synopsis online. And I’m really glad that I read this book.

When I look at a book, I normally don’t look at the author’s name, but when I did I found her name to be very Dutch. So I looked it up and Marieke Nijkamp is from the Netherlands. And I just want to take a moment to say that I’m proud that she made it as a New York Times Bestseller.

But overall I love this book, I think it is very well written and I would recommend it if someone would ask me for a recommendation.

 

Have you read this book? And what were your thoughts on it, do you agree or disagree with me? I’m also very new to reviewing books, so if you might have some tips for me, I would love to hear them.

– Debbie –

 

3 thoughts on “This Is Where It Ends by Marieke Nijkamp *Spoiler Free* Review

Leave a Reply

