Pride and Prejudice1

Pages: 435

Genre: Classic Literature, Fiction

Publication year: 1813

Format: Paperback

Source: Bought

Score: 4.5 stars

 

Goodreads summary

“First published in 1813, “Pride and Prejudice,” Jane Austen’s witty comedy of manners – one of the most popular novels of all time – tells the story of Mr and Mrs Bennet’s five unmarried daughters after the rich and eligible Mr Bingley and his status-conscious friend, Mr Darcy, have moved into their neighborhood. “It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune must be in want of a wife.” So begins the novel that features splendidly civilized sparring between the proud Mr. Darcy and the prejudiced Elizabeth Bennet as they play out their spirited courtship in a series of eighteenth-century drawing-room intrigues.”

 

Characters

The characters were in my opinion really well done, they really made me feel emotions, either good or bad, towards them. And they made me react on what they did. There are a lot of characters in this book, and to make this review not too long and too boring with just the characters, I will narrow it down to main characters.

Elizabeth Bennet, the main character, is a very strong woman in the time period she lives in. She dares to speak her mind, isn’t afraid to make her opinion known, and she dares to say no. Though she has her flaws, like every good main character should have. As the story progressed I started to like Elizabeth more and more, and in my eyes she really was inspiring.

Mr. Darcy is a very complicated character in my opinion, since this was a first read experience for me, it was really hard to figure out where he was coming from and why he was acting the way he was. You get to see the impression he leaves on people, how their opinion on his character is formed. As you got to read more of Mr. Darcy you learn to understand his character more, and I learned to love him.

And at the end an honorable mention to the characters I really disliked, in a good way I suppose: Miss Bingley, Mrs. Bennet and Lydia Bennet.

 

Writing

I found it hard to cope with the writing style that the book was written in. Pride and Prejudice was published in 1813 and so it has an old English writing style. My experience with reading this kind of English has been none until this book, I’m Dutch and my English isn’t really outstanding. The only English I’m used to read is modern English, so it was really hard for me to understand what was happening. I had to re-read some pages a lot to actually get what it said and I really had a hard time getting used to the writing. I was given the tip to use an audiobook for this kind of books, to make it easier to understand, and I will definitely try that out.

I also found the first half of the book to be very slow paced, I really had to push myself to get through it and I couldn’t read more chapters in a row. But at the end, I was glad that I had continued reading it, because the story, became really fast paced and interesting at the second half. It kept me on the edge of my seat and made me wonder what would happen next and if it would go in the way I wanted it to go. I believe that I read to second half in two days.

 

Ending

I really loved the ending, it was all I could hope for. It was a climax to the end of the story which has been build up in the entire book. And the ending was really fast paced. As slow as the first part of the book felt of me, that fast felt the last few chapter to me. I read the last few chapters in one sitting and I really enjoyed it. You could say that I was somewhat exploding with happy emotions.

 

Overall

I really enjoyed this book and I find it to be a good introduction into the books written by Jane Austen, which I will be reading in the next months. The characters felt real to me and I felt the most connection with Elizabeth. I also watched the 2005 movie of Pride and Prejudice and it was a great experience to watch this after you have finished the book.

But I do have to say, that I find it disappointing that Mary’s character isn’t really explored or shown in the story. She is barely mentioned and hasn’t spoken that much at all. She seemed like a great character and good person to me if she was developed more, or maybe I should say at all. I think if she was more mentioned and had been given more input in the story, she might have been my favorite character of the book. And the movie just confirmed this for me.

 

This was my first review ever! If you have any feedback or tips for me to make my reviews better, please tell me. And l have you read Pride and Prejudice? Did you enjoy it?

– Debbie –

 

2 thoughts on “Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen *Spoiler Free* Review

  1. I completely agree on your point about Mary. Throughout the book I was thinking all the time “wait there were five sisters, who’s the fifth?” She was so absent in the entire story, and like you said a bit more input from her character would make it even better. I really liked her as a character, but it was like she wasn’t even there.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

