Hello readers!

August was actually a pretty good reading month for me. I finished some book which were sitting on my currently reading shelf for way too long and I finished my second classic every, the first one was Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. So here are the books I finished reading in August:

Harry Potter and the Prisoner

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling

Pages: 468

Genre: Middle Grade, Fantasy, Adventure

Publication year: 1999

Format: Paperback

Source: Bought

Score: 5 stars

This is a re-read for me. I love the Harry Potter series and the Prisoner of Azkaban is one of my favorites from the series. I had started to re-read the series because I wanted to be done with it when the Cursed Child came out… That did not happen, that was too much for. But I will keep going with re-read the series at my own pace and I will read a book a month. I really enjoyed re-reading the Harry Potter books so far, just reliving this world is so amazing and I never get bored with reading them.

 

Vampire KissesVampire Kisses by Ellen Schreiber (in Dutch)

Pages: 175

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal

Publication year: 2003

Format: Paperback

Source: Borrowed

Score: 2.5 stars

This book has been on my currently reading shelf for over a year. I borrowed it from my sister and promised to finish it, because she really loved it. I didn’t like this book, I had no connection with the main character, Raven, and I found her to be annoying. And I didn’t like the romance at all. But I can see why teenage girls, like my sister, would love the book. This book just wasn’t for me, and I’m happy for the people who do enjoy this book, then it would probably be a very quick read.

 

Divergent 1Divergent by Veronica Roth

Pages: 487

Genre: Young Adult, Dystopia

Publication year: 2011

Format: Paperback

Source: Bought

Score: 5 stars

This is also a book that had been sitting on my currently reading shelf for a while. I don’t know why I stopped reading half way through, I wasn’t bored at all when I continued reading at all. I really enjoyed the first book in the series. I had seen the movie a long time ago so it was like I was experiencing it for the first time. And of course they always leave some parts out in the movies. I really love Tris as a character in this book and I also enjoy Four and I’m looking forward to see though what kind of development they will go through. The end almost made me cry some tears, but I was reading the end in the car so I fought it.  I hope that the rest of the series will be as good at this book.

 

Pride and Prejudice1Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

Pages: 435

Genre: Classic Literature, Fiction

Publication year: 1813

Format: Paperback

Source: Bought

Score: 4.5 stars

I’m reading this book for a book club on Goodreads, Austentatious Book Club. In this book club we read a Jane Austen book per month, this was the first month of the book club.

I really liked the story of Pride and Prejudice and its characters. But I found it hard to go through the book. Since I’m Dutch and my English isn’t outstanding, I found it hard to understand what was written since it isn’t written in modern English because it was published in 1813. The first chapters, I could understand what was happening or even what they were saying. After a while I got used to the writing, but I was still struggling with it. And in my opinion, the first half is a bit slow pace, which made it even hard for me to continue reading. But I’m glad that I pushed myself to keep on reading, because I really enjoyed the second half.

I loved Elizabeth as a character and certainly when you remember in what time period she lived, to me she was an inspirational character. Oh, and Mr. Darcy, is just an amazing man. The second half of the book made me fall in love with his character. So I will definitely re-read this book at some point, maybe then I will be able to understand more and enjoy it from the start.

Link to the book club: https://www.goodreads.com/group/show/194968-austentatious-book-club

So which books did you read in the month of August?

– Debbie –

2 thoughts on “August 2016 Wrap Up

  1. Welcome to book blogging! I’m new myself and also from the Netherlands 🙂
    I always struggle a little with classics because of the use of language, and because I am not raised speaking and reading in English I feel like my knowledge on words is not as big as I would want it to be. When I started reading Pride & Prejudice, I noticed that I also struggled, but when I started reading and listening to the audio book at the same time, it went much easier. I enjoyed reading it a lot! So maybe that is a way you can consider for your next Jane Austen book.

    Like

    1. Thank you! I have the same with the use of language in classics, it really took me long to get used to the writing and I think that is why I didn’t enjoyed Pride & Prejudice that much in the beginning. I will certainly try out an audio book for Persuasion and see if that makes it easier to understand. Thanks for the tip 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

